John swears in as an MP again

John takes the oath of allegiance and is formally sworn in as an MP following the General Election. 

Members of both the House of Commons and the House of Lords are required by law to take an oath of allegiance to the Crown. This is called swearing in. If they object to swearing the oath, they can make a solemn affirmation. MPs cannot take their seat, speak in debates, vote or receive a salary until taking the oath or affirmation. They could also be fined £500 and have their seat declared vacant “as if they were dead” if they attempted to do so.

Having taken the oath John said "It is an honour to have been re-elected as the Member of Parliament for the Henley Constituency. I look forward to Parliament getting up and running again so that we can get to work."

The wording of the oath comes from the Promissory Oaths Act 1868. The form and manner of giving the oath are set out in the Oaths Act 1978. MPs take the oath by holding the sacred text in their uplifted hand and saying the words of the oath:

I (name of Member) swear by Almighty God that I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth, her heirs and successors, according to law. So help me God.